- Medical Cannabis Home
- For Patients
- For Caregivers
- For Health Care Practitioners
- For Public Safety
- Laws and Rules
- Print Materials and Forms
- Registry Login/Create Account
- Petitions Process
- Data and Reports
- About the Medical Cannabis Program
How to Become a Medical Cannabis Patient
Since 2015, Minnesota's Medical Cannabis Program has provided a treatment option for people who are facing debilitating medical conditions, helping to improve their quality of life. This page provides information on how to become a patient in the program.
On this page
- Step 1: Getting certified for your medical condition
- Step 2: How to enroll
- Step 3: Purchasing your medical cannabis
Watch these videos to learn about these patients' journeys with medical cannabis.
Step 1: Getting certified for your medical condition
Before you can participate in the program, you must get your medical condition certified online in the Medical Cannabis Registry by a Minnesota-licensed physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse.
Tips for finding a participating health care practitioner:
- Ask your medical team or advocacy groups that represent your medical condition.
- Search on the internet, including the websites for Minnesota's medical cannabis manufacturers.
NOTE: OMC does not maintain or share a list of health care practitioners who are participating in the program.
BEFORE going to your appointment with your health care practitioner, consider setting up a new personal (non-employer based) email account, if you do not already have one. The Office of Medical Cannabis will use this email address to send you updates and information, including your enrollment/application link.
DURING your visit, give your email address to your health care practitioner. Ask for an appointment summary and a list of your current medications. Take this to your initial visit at your Medical Cannabis Dispensary.
AFTER your health care practitioner certifies your condition, you will receive an email from the Office of Medical Cannabis that contains:
- Confirmation of your condition being certified by your health care practitioner.
- Your unique online enrollment link for the Medical Cannabis Registry.
Step 2: How to enroll
Once you receive your certification email, you are now ready to enroll! Follow the link in the email to enroll (check your spam or junk folder in case you do not see the email in your regular inbox).
If you need help managing your Medical Cannabis Registry account or picking up your medical cannabis, you can add a caregiver, parent/legal guardian, or spouse to your account at this time.
BEFORE you start your online enrollment, gather your:
- Government-issued photo ID, driver’s license, or passport.
- Current residential mortgage, lease, or rental agreement.
- State tax documents from previous calendar year.
- Utility bill issued within previous 90 days of date of application.
- Rent or mortgage payment receipt dated fewer than 90 days before application.
- Proof of stamped state-issued Minnesota driver's license or State ID, driver’s license application, or renewal ID slip issued within the past 90 days.
- Social Security disability insurance statement, Supplemental Security income benefits statement, or medical claim or statement of benefits from a private insurance company or governmental agency that is issued fewer than 90 days before application.
- Affidavit from a person who will act as a designated caregiver for the patient, or from a person who is engaged in health services or social services, which states he or she knows the patient and believes the patient resides in Minnesota. Please note that an affidavit must be notarized (have a notary certify the signature).
- Digital camera or mobile phone to capture an image of your ID.
- Parent/legal guardian or spouse ID and birth certificate/marriage certificate, if applicable. Unless a patient is a minor, adding a parent/legal guardian or spouse is optional.
NOTE: The annual enrollment fee was eliminated effective July 1, 2023. Due to state regulations, OMC cannot refund enrollment fees paid before that date.
Your completed enrollment application will be reviewed by Office of Medical Cannabis staff. This may take up to 30 days, and you will receive an email as soon as your application has been processed. Office of Medical Cannabis staff may contact you by email if we need additional information.
NOTE: Patients registered in Minnesota's Medical Cannabis Program must re-enroll on a yearly basis if they want to continue participating in the program. For more details, see How to Re-Enroll in the Medical Cannabis Program.
Step 3: Purchasing your medical cannabis
Once your enrollment is approved, you can access your Medical Cannabis Registry account and pick up medical cannabis at your nearest Medical Cannabis Dispensary. See Medical Cannabis Dispensary Locations.
For more information about managing your Medical Cannabis Registry account, see Managing Your Medical Cannabis Registry Account (PDF).
BEFORE you go to your Medical Cannabis Dispensary:
- Complete and submit the Patient Self-Evaluation online (available in your Medical Cannabis Registry account). NOTE: A registered caregiver can complete the Patient Self-Evaluation for you. You must complete a new Patient Self-Evaluation every time you purchase medical cannabis.
- Schedule your appointment.
NOTE: The Office of Medical Cannabis does not approve the Patient Self-Evaluation or dispense medical cannabis. Medical Cannabis Dispensary staff will approve your Patient Self-Evaluation prior to or at the time of pick up.
A pharmacist at the Medical Cannabis Dispensary will review your account and recommend a medication.
What to bring:
- Your government-issued photo ID (your caregiver must bring theirs when picking up medicine).
- A list of your prescribed medications (for initial appointment or if your medications change).
- The visit summary from your health care practitioner who certified your condition (for initial appointment).
- Payment for your medicine. Payment options vary by location. NOTE: Insurance companies do not cover the cost of medical cannabis.