Full Technician Licensing Information, by Reciprocity
Applicants for Minnesota body art technician licensure who are licensed, certified or registered in other states may qualify for licensure by reciprocity. If you have not been licensed by a state that Minnesota accepts reciprocity from, you will need to begin the temporary technician licensure process. Begin by creating an account or logging into the MDH Body Art Technician Licensing System. If you have questions as to whether or not we will accept your state or counties accreditation, please contact 651-201-4200. You will only be issued a license by reciprocity if your license is in good standing AND the Minnesota Commissioner of Health determines that the requirements for your current license, certification, or registration meets or exceeds Minnesota's requirements.
To apply for licensure by reciprocity, you must:
- Be 18 years or older.
- Have the jurisdiction of your current license, certification, or registration mail a completed Body Art Licensing Verification of Credential Form directly to the Minnesota Department of Health stating that you are in good standing. This process has moved to the MDH Body Art Technician Licensing System.
- A copy of the statutes/requirements* for your current licensure, certification, or registry.
- Supply a copy of a current, legal ID showing proof of age.
- Supply a copy of a current course certification (taken in the last year) in bloodborne pathogens, prevention of disease transmission, infection control, and aseptic technique.
- Complete the online application. Note: The Body Art Technician Licensing System will be live soon. If you are able, please wait to submit your application through the new system. It’s the fastest path to complete all the steps to licensure, including on-demand printing of the license.
- Pay the fee of $420 payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota."
*The Commissioner has determined that requirements in Missouri, New Mexico (EXCLUDING Permanent Make up), Oklahoma, Oregon, and Virginia meet or exceed Minnesota's requirements. If your license, certification, or registration is from one of those states, you do not have to submit a copy of the state's licensure requirements.
Length of Licensure: Full technician licenses are valid for up to two years. All full technician licenses expire on March 31.
Processing Time: Up to 30 days AFTER application paperwork is considered complete.