Heart Safe Communities - Minnesota Department of Health

Heart Safe Communities

Sudden cardiac arrest can happen anywhere, at anytime, to anyone. And it's almost always fatal. Cardiovascular events, including cardiac arrest, are the second-leading cause of death in Minnesota, responsible for almost 20% of deaths.

In 2015, about 50% of Minnesota's heart disease deaths happened before arriving at a hospital, and many of those were caused by cardiac arrest. This is why the Minnesota Department of Health, the American Heart Association, the Minnesota Ambulance Association, the Minnesota Resuscitation Consortium, and others have partnered to promote Heart Safe Communities, an effort to 1 million heart safe Minnesotans imageprevent death from sudden cardiac arrest by increasing community and public awareness, placing automated external defibrillators (AEDs) wherever people live, work and play, and by educating the public on how to administer CPR.

As of 2017, more than 1 million Minnesotans live or work in a Heart Safe Community.

Heart Safe Communities helps communities and organizations:

  • educate community members about sudden cardiac arrest and improving heart health.
  • train people how to use AEDs and perform CPR.

Heart Safe designation

Red heart overlapping green Minnesota stateHeart safe designation recognizes a community's efforts to prepare its staff and citizens to recognize when someone suffers a sudden cardiac arrest and how to respond. Any municipality, county or organization in Minnesota can apply for the Heart Safe designation from the Minnesota Department of Health and American Heart Association.

More than a million Minnesotans live or work in these Heart Safe communities.

  • Andover
  • Apple Valley
  • Baxter
  • Bayport
  • Birchwood Village
  • Bloomington
  • Brainerd
  • Breezy Point
  • Brooklyn Center
  • Cokato
  • Columbia Heights
  • Coon Rapids
  • Delano
  • East Bethel
  • Farmington
  • Fayal Township (St. Louis County)
  • Fosston
  • Gem Lake
  • Golden Valley
  • Hastings
  • Hugo
  • Kandiyohi County
  • Lake City
  • Lake Elmo
  • Lakeville
  • Mahtomedi
  • Maple Grove
  • Maple Plain
  • Marine-on-St. Croix
  • Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe
  • Minnetonka
  • Mounds View
  • New Brighton
  • New Ulm
  • New York Mills
  • Osseo
  • Perham
  • Plymouth
  • Ramsey
  • Richville
  • Rockford
  • St. Anthony Village
  • Savage
  • Shakopee
  • South Metro Fire Department (South St. Paul and West St. Paul)
  • Stevens County
  • Stillwater
  • Two Harbors
  • Vadnais Heights
  • Waverly
  • White Bear Lake
  • White Bear Township (Ramsey County)
  • Willmar
  • Woodbury
  • 133rd Airlift Wing Minnesota National Guard (Fort Snelling)
  • 3M (Maplewood)
  • Bethlehem Academy (Faribault)
  • Brooklyn Center High School
  • Coon Rapids High School
  • Gustavus Adolphus College (St. Peter)
  • Medtronic (Sullivan Lake Campus, Columbia Heights)
  • Order of St. Benedict & St. John’s University (Collegeville)
  • St. Catherine University
  • St. Cloud Technical College
  • St. Thomas Academy (Mendota Heights)

Heart Safe Partners

  • Minnesota Department of Health
  • American Heart Association - Minnesota
  • Minnesota Ambulance Association
  • Minnesota Resuscitation Consortium
  • Minnesota Sudden Cardiac Arrest Survivors Network

Heart Safe Application and Materials

  • Contact Jim Peacock to request any of the following materials:
    • Heart Safe Toolkit and Application
    • Heart Safe Campus Toolkit and Application
    • Heart Safe Brochure
    • Heart Safe FAQ
    • Heart Safe Goal Poster

Are you providing bystander CPR training?

Please add your training numbers here and help train 10 percent of Minnesotans:

To learn more about Heart Safe Communities and how to receive technical assistance about implementing the program in your community, please contact:

American Heart Association - MN
2750 Blue Water Road
Suite 250
Eagan, MN 55121
952-278-7712 (phone)
952-835-5828 (fax)

James Peacock, PhD, MPH 651-201-5405 james.peacock@state.mn.us

Updated Tuesday, 26-Feb-2019 14:05:30 CST