Jim Parker Leadership Award - Minnesota Dept. of Health

Jim Parker Leadership Award

This award recognizes persons or groups who have demonstrated significant statewide leadership in public health.

Most recent recipient
About this award
Eligibility and nominations
Past honorees


2019 Jim Parker Leadership Award Recipients

Sue Strohschein & Marjorie Schaffer, editors, Public Health Interventions: Applications for Public Health Nursing Practice

Sue Strohschein and Marjorie Schaffer served as co-editors of this past year's update of Public health interventions: Applications for nursing practice, 2nd ed., also known as the "Wheel Manual." The first edition of the manual, published in 2001, incorporated best evidence for public health nursing interventions, and has been used by nursing schools, local health agencies, and other organizations nationwide to orient new public health nursing students and staff. Experienced public health nurses use the wheel to refresh their understanding and commitment to population-based practice. For the second edition, Marge and Sue extensively reviewed recent evidence, and updated and aligned interventions with new evidence. A very long list of local public health leaders and nursing faculty at universities throughout the state shared their support for this award, and their gratitude to Sue and Marge.

Sue Strohschein (below left) accepted this award on behalf of both women.

Sue StrohscheinMarjorie Schaffer


About this award

The Jim Parker Leadership Award, formerly called the Community Health Services Leadership Award, was created to recognize individuals who had made significant contributions to community health services at the state and local levels through their commitment to community health services development and their leadership in promoting the philosophy and purposes of community health services. In 1992, SCHSAC changed the name of the Community Health Services Leadership Award to the Jim Parker Leadership Award.

The award is given in memory of Jim Parker, who was the director of the Community Health Services Division at the Minnesota Department of Health from 1984 until his untimely death in 1991. Jim Parker is remembered by those who knew him as a person of vision, wit, and hope. Under his leadership, the Minnesota Department of Health and the local public health system developed a cooperative partnership exemplified by a problem-based planning process, a strong state advisory committee, and an extensive communication network. The members of SCHSAC and the Commissioner of Health honor his work and his memory by presenting this award.


Eligibility and nominations

Eligibility requirements include: Current SCHSAC member or alternate member, local community health services staff, local advisory committee member, elected official, or volunteer. Nominate an individual or group for this award.


Past honorees

Jim Parker Leadership Award

  • 2019 Sue Strohschein & Marjorie Schaffer, editors, Public Health Interventions: Applications for Public Health Nursing Practice
  • 2018 Daniel Huff, Minneapolis Department of Health
  • 2017 Cindy Pederson, Director of Wadena County Public Health
  • 2016 Laurel Hoff, Director of Anoka County Community Health and Environmental Services
  • 2015 Bill Groskreutz, Faribault County Commissioner
  • 2014 Diane Thorson, Otter Tail County Public Health
  • 2013 Lowell Johnson, Washington County Public Health and Environment
  • 2012 Bonnie Engen, Clearwater County Nursing Service, North Country Community Health Board
  • 2011 Deb Smith, Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa
  • 2010 Julie Myhre, Carlton-Cook-Lake-St. Louis Community Health Board
  • 2009 Sue Hedlund, Washington County
  • 2008 Karen Zeleznak, City of Bloomington
  • 2007 Amy Wilde, Meeker County
  • 2006 Paul Wilson, Olmsted County
  • 2005 Renee Frauendienst, Stearns County
  • 2004 Robert Stevenson, Stevens County
  • 2003 Susan Congrave, Koochiching County
  • 2002 Jane Norbin, Saint Paul-Ramsey Community Health Board
  • 2001 Deb Hess, Redwood County
  • 2000 Ann Bajari, Meeker-McLeod-Sibley Community Health Board
  • 1999 Mary Wellik, Olmsted County
  • 1998 Norris Anderson, Kandiyohi County
  • 1997 Sandy Tubbs, Grant-Pope-Stevens-Traverse Counties
  • 1996 Gary Wingrove, Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board
  • 1995 Karen Nelson, Wadena County
  • 1994 Theresa Pesch, Meeker-McLeod-Sibley Community Health Board
  • 1993 Rob Fulton, Ramsey County
  • 1992 Randy Rehnstrand, Aitkin-Itasca-Koochiching Community Health Board

Community Health Services Leadership Award

  • 1991 Kal Michels, Wilkin County
  • 1990 Lynn Theurer, Winona County
  • 1989 Arlyn Nelson, Wright County
  • 1988 Bill Brakke, Rock County
  • 1987 Edward Eberhardt, City of Saint Paul
  • 1986 Lee Luebbe, Winona County; Roma Steil, Stearns County; Frank Jungas, Cottonwood-Jackson counties
  • 1985 Lilja Snyder, Polk County
  • 1984 Arvid Thompson, Clay County; Jane Breimhorst, Scott County; Deborah Plumb, Minnesota Dept. of Health
  • 1983 Frances A. Decker, Minnesota Dept. of Health; Randy Rehnstrand, Aitkin-Itasca-Koochiching counties
  • 1982 Vernon (Bob) Haglund, Goodhue-Wabasha counties; Gene Mossing, Winona County; Raymer Hoyum, Beltrami-Lake of the Woods-Clearwater-Hubbard counties
  • 1981 Agnes Leitheiser, Wright County; Mary Rippke, Faribault-Martin-Watonwan counties; George Walter, Otter Tail County
  • 1980 Ellen Alkon, City of Minneapolis; Calvin Condon, Waseca County; Olin Odland, Lyon County; Harold Trende, Carver County