Licensing, information for technicians and establishments, and consumer information about body art.
Submit guest technician license applications prior to December 14, 2023 for Villain Arts Minneapolis Tattoo Arts Festival
Guest technicians will be coming from across the U.S. and around the world to the Villain Arts Minneapolis Tattoo Arts Festival which will be held January 5 – 7, 2024.
To practice at the Villain Arts Minneapolis Tattoo Arts Festival, the artist must hold a guest technician license from the Minnesota Department of Health. All guest technician license applications and payments must be completed online. Paper applications are not accepted. MDH cannot guarantee that guest technician license applications received on or after December 14, 2023 will be processed in time for the Festival.
What you need to know about being a guest technician:
- All guest technicians must have a current Minnesota-licensed body artist to act as the sponsor.
- The license will allow you to work up to 30 days in the state and will expire December 31, 2024.
- You must be approved for a guest technician license at each event that you plan to work in Minnesota.
- The fee is $140 and is not prorated.
- You must print your license in advance, bring it with you to the festival, and have it prominently displayed while at the event.
- Additional information and guest technician requirements can be found on the Body Art Technician Licensing page.
Have you had a guest technician license in the state of Minnesota in the past six years?
You can apply for a new guest technician license OR renew your previous guest license in the Body Art Technician Licensing System. You may need to claim your previous license before you can renew.
- Log in to the Body Art Technician Licensing System. If you've never logged in before, you will need to create an account.
- If you need to claim your license:
- Select “Claim License.”
- Enter your Minnesota guest technician license number and social security number.
- Select “Claim License.”
- Select “Home” to view your dashboard.
- Select “New Application.”
- Select “Apply for Guest Technician” button and follow the steps outlined in the system to submit a guest artist application.
Never had a guest technician license in the state of Minnesota, or not had one in the past six years? Apply for a new guest technician license through the Body Art Technician Licensing System.
If you are from another country and are applying for a guest technician license, follow the instructions in the Body Art Technician Licensing System New Applicant Training: International Guest Technician License (PDF) to apply for a guest technician license.
- Body Art Technician Licensing
- Body Art Technician Licensing System
- Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 146B Body Art
- Body Art Supervision Information
- Minnesota Statutes 146B.01 Subd. 28 Supervision
- Establishment Renewals
- Body Art Establishment Info
- Body Art Establishment Application 2017 (PDF)
- Body Art Establishment Inspection Checklist (PDF)
- Temporary Event Information
- Consumer Information
- Body Art Complaint Form
- Minnesota Body Art Regulation Brochure (PDF)
- Disciplinary Actions
- Current Body Art Licenses
- Body Art Licensing Statutes
- 2017 Amendments to 2016 Statutes
- Body Art Related Links
- Body Art Licensing Contact Information
- Association of Professional Piercers
- Alliance of Professional Tattooists
- National Environmental Health Association
- Association of Food and Drug Officials
- Society of Professional Permanent Cosmetic Professionals