Assisted Living License Renewals - Minnesota Department of Health

Assisted Living License Renewal

Providers are required to renew their Assisted Living license each year. A license may be renewed for up to one year if the licensee submits an application for renewal at least 60 days before the expiration of the license, submits the renewal fee, and provides information sufficient to show that the applicant meets the requirements of licensure.

Related Statutes: 144G.12, 144G.17

Renewal applications have been posted to the Improved Customer Service Delivery (ICSD) portal beginning in May 2022. Provider Renewal Notification Letters with login credentials will be emailed to the licensee’s permanent business email address at least 30 days prior to application submission deadline.

MDH has created an information sheet that you can print with important dates and answers to frequently asked questions: Assisted Living License Renewal Information (PDF).

On this page:

Important Renewal Dates

  • May 1, 2022: Renewal applications available in ICSD
  • June 1, 2022:
    • 60-day deadline for renewal application submission
    • 60-day deadline for closure plan approval
  • July 1, 2022:
    • 30-day deadline for application submission to avoid a one-time penalty
    • Applications submitted after July 1 are subject to a one-time fine of $200
  • August 1, 2022:
    • Conversion licenses are expired
    • Facilities operating after expiration and without a license are subject to a fine of $250 per day

Graphic showing application deadlines in blue boxes, backgrounded by a gray arrow pointing right.

Back to top

Forms

Change of Information for Assisted Living Providers (PDF): Ensure MDH has the correct information on file. The Provider Renewal Notification Letter will be sent to the permanent business email address. Renewal License will be sent to the business mailing address.

Closure Form for Assisted Living Providers (PDF): If you are not renewing your license, you must follow 144G.57 and notify MDH by submitting this closure form along with a closure plan and proposed notice to residents. After MDH has approved the plan, the facility must provide notice to residents at least 60 days before closing.

Construction Plan Submittal Form for Assisted Living Providers (PDF): Use this form if you are required to submit plans for review.

Renewal Provider Checklist (PDF): This checklist provides guidance for gathering all potential items that may be needed to submit a renewal application for an Assisted Living Facility (ALF) license or for and Assisted Living Facility with Dementia Care (ALFDC) license.

Uniform Disclosure of Assisted Living Services and Amenities (PDF): An updated version must be submitted with your license renewal.

Back to top

License Renewal FAQs

Yes. There is a $200 penalty for submitting a renewal application less than 30 days prior to the expiration date of the license or after the license has expired. There is also a $250 per day penalty for operating a facility after the expiration of a license and before a renewal license is issued. A facility is subject to misdemeanor penalties for operating after their license has expired.

No. An Assisted Living Facility License (ALF) or Assisted Living Facility with Dementia Care (ALFDC) License is issued by the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH). A Licensed Assisted Living Director (LALD) license is issued by the Board of Executives for Long Term Services and Supports (BELTSS). These are two separate licenses issued by two separate entities and they need to be renewed separately. Please refer to Assisted Living Director / Board of Executives for Long-Term Services and Supports (BELTSS) for requirements.

No. A Change of Ownership (CHOW) may not occur during license renewal. If you anticipate a CHOW prior to renewal then you should submit the Provisional Assisted Living Licensure Information and Application (PDF) as soon as possible. You may also choose to wait until after the renewal is complete to undergo a CHOW.

For more information, please see the Change of Ownership section on this page.

No. License type cannot change during renewal. If a licensee chooses to relinquish an Assisted Living Facility with Dementia Care License (ALFDC), they must follow the procedures outlined in 144G.80 Subd. 3 and 4659.0160 either prior to or after renewal. If a licensee would like to move from an Assisted Living Facility (ALF) License to an Assisted Living Facility with Dementia Care (ALFDC) License, they must apply for a new provisional ALFDC License; information about this process can be found on the Assisted Living Licensure Application Materials page.

Capacity changes are allowed during license renewal; however, not all capacity increase will be approved. Only capacity increases within approved capacity categories are allowed without engineering plan review and inspection.

Capacity Categories for Assisted Living Facility licenses:

  • 0-5 residents
  • 6-16 residents
  • 17+ residents

Back to top

Training Videos

Providers can use these videos to help them work through the renewal process.

Back to top

Renewal Teleconference Calls

MDH is offering a series of calls to provide information and education on how to successfully navigate the renewal process. Detailed information and dates are available on the Assisted Living Teleconference Calls page.

Updated Wednesday, 01-Jun-2022 18:49:20 CDT