- Home Care Home
- Starting an Agency
- Survey Forms and Self-audit Tools
- Info for Providers
- Info for Consumers, Families and Caregivers
- Facility and Provider Database
- Survey Results
- Laws / Statutes
- Advisory Council
- Info for Surveyors
- About Us
Home Care Changes of Ownership
Minnesota home care law does not permit the transfer of a home care license. Before acquiring ownership of or a controlling interest in a home care provider business, a prospective owner must apply for a new license.
A change of ownership is a transfer of operational control of the home care provider business and includes:
- transfer of the business to a different or new corporation;
- in the case of a partnership, the dissolution or termination of the partnership under chapter 323A, with the business continuing by a successor partnership or other entity;
- relinquishment of control of the provider to another party, including to a contract management firm that is not under the control of the owner of the business' assets;
- transfer of the business by a sole proprietor to another party or entity; or
- transfer of ownership or control of 50 percent or more of the controlling interest of a home care provider business not covered by clauses (1) to (4).
If you intend to purchase a home care business in Minnesota, you must file the appropriate license application with the Minnesota Department of Health and pay the application fee.
Submit applications to the Home Care Program at least 60 days prior to the sale of the business.