Speech Language Pathologist and Audiologist Application Instructions
Licensing Information and Forms
- Audiologist License
- Speech-Language Pathologist License
- Temporary License: Clinical Fellowship or Doctoral Externship
- Temporary License: Persons Credentialed by ASHA, ABA, or Other States
- Temporary License: Renewal
Application Processing Times
Application processing times are based on receiving a complete application.
- Full speech-language pathologist or audiologist license: up to 30 days.
- Clinical fellowship or doctoral externship: 1-2 weeks.
- Temporary license for persons credentialed by ASHA, ABA or other states: 1-2 weeks.
School Speech-Language Pathologists
Individuals applying as a speech-language pathologist who will be working in a school will need to contact the Minnesota Professional Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB) for licensing procedures.
Per MN Statute 148.511 – sections 148.511 to 148.5198 do not apply to school personnel licensed by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board and practicing within the scope of their school license under Minnesota Rules, part 87100.6000, or the paraprofessionals who assist these individuals.
New applicants are required to pay a fee to the Department of Human Services (DHS) for an online applicant background study. Instructions for completing the background study can be accessed at Applicant Background Study Instruction Form (PDF). We recommend applicants for an SLP or AUD license mail their application to MDH and start the online background study process on the same day.
One-time Processing Fee for New Applicants
Effective October 1, 2018, all individuals applying for initial licensure, temporary licensure or relicensure as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist must pay a one-time fee to process a criminal background check. This fee is in addition to the license application fee and authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5194.
Applicants submitting an application must provide a check or money order payable to the “Minnesota Department of Health” for the license application fee including the one-time processing fee as follows:
- Speech Language Pathology: $10.50
- Audiology: $13.00
- Dual Audiology/Speech Language Pathology: $13.00
Applicants Must Undergo a Background Check After a Lapse in Licensure
You must complete a criminal background check if more than one year has elapsed since you last applied for a license as required by MN Statutes 148.519.
Instructions for completing the background check can be accessed at Applicant Background Study Instruction Form (PDF).
This process can take up to three weeks or longer. Submit both the applicant background study and licensing applications around the same time. Your full license application should be submitted at least sixty days before the expiration of your temporary license, so that there is not a lapse in your licensed status.
Starting Next Year All Applicants Licensed Before January 2018 Must Undergo an Applicant Background Study
Effective January 1, 2020, all applicants for a renewal license as an audiologist, speech-language pathologist, or hearing instrument dispenser licensed before January 1, 2018, must submit to an applicant background study.