Speech-Language Pathologist and Audiologist Licensing
Speech-Language Pathologist License Application
You must have a Minnesota Speech Language Pathologist (SLP) license before you may begin practicing in Minnesota as an SLP or use protected titles. The processing time for a full license application can take up to 30 days after we have received all documentation required for the license. If you need a license sooner you have the option of applying for a Temporary License. The temporary license can be issued within 5 to 10 business days after our office receives the completed application and fee.
You must select one of the following methods. Please read the description for each method to determine how you will apply.
Regardless of the application method you select, you must provide documentation if you hold or have held speech-language pathologist credentials in another state. See application forms below for more information.
Methods of Licensing
Method 1 (Equivalency based on Current Certifications) (PDF)
You may qualify for licensing by "equivalency" under Minnesota Statutes, §148.516 if you hold a current certificate of clinical competency issued by ASHA. To complete your application for licensing under Method 1, you must supply documentation of your current certification(s) from ASHA. Acceptable documentation is a current letter of verification from ASHA.
Method 2 (Reciprocity) (PDF)
You may qualify for licensing by reciprocity under Minnesota Statutes, §148.517 if you hold a current and unrestricted credential as a speech-language pathologist in another jurisdiction that has requirements equivalent to or higher than those required by Minnesota Statutes, §148.511 through §148.5198
Method 3 (Meet all requirements for certification(s) but do not have certification) (PDF)
If you do not currently hold a certificate of clinical competency you may qualify for licensing under Minnesota Statutes, §148.515 if you have met every requirement that ASHA requires for certification.
A $30 fee will be assessed to insufficient funds payments. Applicant must resubmit with certified funds.
Find the month the license application will be received in our office to determine the license fee amount. If you have already submitted a Department of Human Services Applicant Background Study (PDF) for your licensing prior to Oct. 1, 2018, you do not need to pay MDH a required one-time background processing fee until your renewal, after Jan. 1, 2020, per MN Statute 148.5194, Subd. 7a.
|Month||Base Fee||Processing Fee||Total Fee|
Other License Fees:
- Biennial renewal: $200
- Renewal late fee charge: $60
- Temporary license fee for applicants credentialed by ASHA, ABA or other states: ($25 + $10.50 processing fee) $35.50
- Verification to other states: $25