Doula Registry Information
The Minnesota legislature enacted a law effective July 1, 2007, creating the Doula Registry within the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH). The department verifies that an applicant is certified by one of eight private certifying organizations listed in statute and identifies whether the doula has a criminal history as shown on the web site of the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.
Standards or Competencies
The department does not have a list of standards or competencies that a doula should meet in order to be listed on the registry. You must contact the certifying organization to determine what standards or competencies a doula certified by that organization must possess.
Registration and Renewal Fee
An application fee of $200 ($185 Application Fee, $15 Criminal Background Check Fee) is required for all initial and renewal doula applications. All fees are nonrefundable, regardless of your status as a doula.
Doula Registration Length
You will be listed on the Doula Registry for three years from the date your name was first added to the registry, if you maintain your doula certification with an approved certifying organization. The expiration date of your doula certification will be on the List of Registered Doulas.
Approximately 60 days prior to your expiration, you will receive notification that it is time to renew your registration. The notification letter will include the Doula Registry Application and on pages three and four, the Doula Verification of Credential form. To continue being listed in the registry, you will need to fill in the Doula Verification of Credential form and send it to your certifying organization. The certifying organization will confirm your continued certification with the organization.