Mortuary Science State Licensing Exam
The Mortuary Science State Examination shall encompass the laws and rules of Minnesota that pertain to the practice of mortuary science.The Commissioner shall make available copies of all pertinent laws and rules prior to administration of the state licensing examination. For study material follow link provided. If a passing score is not attained on the state examination, the individual must wait two weeks before they can retake the examination.
The state law examination consists of 75 objective multiple choice questions, 75% is passing. Individuals cannot miss more than 19 questions.
Each applicant is given up to two hours to complete the examination. If there are any special considerations or accommodations needed to sit for the state examination, please let our office know at the time the examination is scheduled.
|Application Deadline||Exam Date||Time||Status|
|September 1, 2019||September 12, 2019||9 a.m.||open|
|October 1, 2019||October 10, 2019||1 p.m.||open|
|November 1, 2019||November 14, 2019||1 p.m.||open|
|December 1, 2019||December 12, 2019||1 p.m.||open|
You will be contacted via phone and scheduled for the next open exam when your application has been reviewed and you meet the educational requirements.
The examination fee of $125.00 must be made payable to Commissioner of Finance, mailed to the Minnesota Department of Health, and accompany one of the following applications:
- Mortuary Science Internship Registration
- Mortuary Science License to Endorse
- Initial License to Practice Mortuary Science (If re-applying after a lapsed license)
Follow instructions on the application for submitting your request.
If you are re-taking the exam, you must submit the application and fee again.
Please note any study material you bring to the exam will not be allowed into the exam room. You will also be asked to turn off your cell phones during the examination. Please allow 1-3 days for examination results.
When scheduled to take the state examination at the Minnesota Department of Health arrive at:
Golden Rule Building
Minnesota Department of Health
85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220
St. Paul, MN 55101
When you arrive to suite 220, state that you are here for the Mortuary Science State Examination.
Parking meters are available on the street. Parking is also available in the Robert Street Ramp.
Skyway located on the 3rd level of the Robert Street ramp connects to the 2nd floor of Golden Rule Building, same floor as suite 220.
Parking fees are not provided by the Minnesota Department of Health.
If you would like to receive an email notices when this page gets updated, please subscribe: Subscribe to Mortuary Science Exam Dates Updates