- Asbestos Home
- Did You Know
- Find a Contractor or Consultant
- Floor Tile Removal
- Homeowner Information
- Look up Personal Licenses
- Minnesota Statutes and Rules
- Online Abatement Notification
- Products Containing Asbestos
- Work Practices
- Contact us
Environmental Health Division
Individual Asbestos Certification
Why is individual certification necessary?
The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) certifies the following asbestos disciplines for individuals:
- Asbestos Worker
- Asbestos Site Supervisor
- Asbestos Inspector
- Asbestos Management Planner
- Asbestos Project Designer
This certification ensures that individuals performing these activities are properly trained and qualified.
An MDH approved initial training course must be completed for initial certification in any asbestos discipline. Individuals currently certified in another state, must take an MDH approved refresher training course for that asbestos discipline.
Experience or qualification requirements
The following table outlines all the necessary experience and qualification requirements for the various asbestos disciplines.
Experience Requirements for Asbestos Certification (PDF)
MDH certification fees for the various asbestos disciplines are:
- Asbestos Worker - $52.50
- Asbestos Site Supervisor - $52.50
- Asbestos Inspector - $105
- Asbestos Management Planner - $105
- Asbestos Project Designer - $105
A cashier's check, business check or money order for the fee must be submitted with the application. Cash or personal checks are not accepted.
What to submit for certification
Submit the following items to MDH for certification. Please allow 2-4 weeks for processing.
- A completed and signed Asbestos Certification Application (PDF)
- A color, photographic image of yourself
- The certification fee
NOTE: Individuals previously certified in another state applying for an initial Minnesota asbestos certification must submit copies of their initial training course diploma and all subsequent refresher training course diplomas.
MDH asbestos certification is good for one year from the date of completion on the most recently submitted training course diploma.
For more information about asbestos, contact the Asbestos Program at MDH through the internet or by telephone at (651) 201-4620.
Go to > top