CFPM Requirements for Food Establishments
Minnesota Certified Food Protection Manager (CFPM)
Food establishments are required to employ a Certified Food Protection Manager (CFPM).
All food establishments are required to employ a Certified Food Protection Manager (CFPM), except for those listed under the exemptions below.
A food establishment that ceases to employ a CFPM must employ a new CFPM within 60 days.
Only upon opening or reopening a food establishment, a licensee may employ a employee who:
- at the time of opening or reopening, has completed an approved training course and passed an approved exam within the past six months; and
- within 60 days of opening or reopening, the employee applies for and obtains certification.
A food establishment required to employ a CFPM must display a current, original CFPM certificate or a current, duplicate CFPM certificate in the establishment.
A CFPM certificate is not transferable to another person.
Exemptions from employing a Certified Food Protection Manager (CFPM):
- where the method of food preparation meets the definition of a low-risk food establishment in Minnesota Statutes, section 157.20; or
- where the food establishment is licensed as a special event food stand; or
- where the food establishment operates as a "retail food vehicle, portable structure, or cart" licensed by the Minnesota Department of Agriculture; or
- where food preparation activities are limited to one or more of the following:
- preparing or packaging non-TCS foods that are made from ingredients that are not TCS;
- processing raw meat, poultry, fish, or game animals intended for cooking by the consumer; or
- heating or serving precooked hot dog or sausage products, popcorn, nachos, pretzels, or frozen pizza.
If you have additional questions about CFPM requirements for food establishments, contact your inspector.