Initial and Renewal Process: Minnesota Certified Food Protection Manager - EH: Minnesota Department of Health

Initial and Renewal Process
Minnesota Certified Food Protection Manager (CFPM)

Attention

Renewal Modification Ending for Certified Food Protection Manager (CFPM) Credential
Minnesota Session Laws 2020, Chapter 74, Article 1, Section 13, allowed the Commissioner of Health to temporarily delay, waive, or modify Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4626, that governs the requirements for food and beverage service establishments. Effective March 13, 2020, one of these modifications allowed an additional six (6) months after expiration of the credential for CFPM renewal applicants to complete their four (4) hours of continuing education in food safety. With the peacetime emergency declaration ending July 1st, 2021, this renewal modification will end August 30th, 2021.

What this means for CFPM renewal applicants with credentials expiring after August 30th, 2021

Individuals with CFPM credentials expiring after August 30th, 2021, must:

  1. Complete 4 hours of continuing education in food safety on or before the expiration of their credential.
  2. Within six (6) months of expiration of their credential:
    1. Submit a completed Food Manager Certification Renewal Application (PDF),
    2. Application fee ($35), and
    3. Proof of continuing education to the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH).

For additional resources, including a listing of approved food safety renewal course and initial exam providers, please visit:

Minnesota Certified Food Protection Manager (CFPM) - EH: Minnesota Department of Health.

Please contact course instructors with questions regarding possible cancellation of Certified Food Protection Manager initial and renewal courses due to COVID-19 concerns.

Instructors and applicants are encouraged to follow the recommended social distancing and small event guidelines on the Minnesota Department of Health’s (MDH) Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) webpage when hosting classes in person. Alternative initial and renewal courses can be found on the Initial Courses, Exams and Continuing Education webpage.

Instructors

Please log into the MDH Registered Food Safety Training Course Providers webpage to:

  • cancel a course,
  • add a course, or
  • change information on a course.

Minnesota food code requires a Minnesota certified food protection manager (CFPM) in most food establishments. You may choose to strengthen your establishment’s food safety team by having more than one CFPM.

In addition, having at least one Minnesota CFPM satisfies the requirements for events that are exempt from licensure under the "Church Lady” Law.

Use the information and resources provided here to become a Minnesota CFPM or to renew your certification.

Initial Minnesota CFPM

If you have never been a Minnesota CFPM, follow these steps:

1. Attend an approved training course and pass an approved exam.

2. Mail initial application, required documentation, and $35 fee to MDH.

  • Apply for initial Minnesota CFPM no more than six months after passing the exam.

If your exam certificate is more than six months old, you must retake the exam before applying.

Mailing address

Minnesota Department of Health
Certified Food Protection Manager Program
Food, Pools, and Lodging Services Section
P.O. Box 64495
St. Paul, MN 55164-0495

Renewal Minnesota CFPM

Your Minnesota CFPM is valid for three years. To renew your Minnesota CFPM follow these steps:

1. Attend approved continuing education.

  • You must complete at least four (4) hours of approved continuing education before the expiration date of your Minnesota CFPM certificate. If you do not complete four (4) hours of approved continuing education before the expiration date of your Minnesota CFPM certificate, you will be required to retake an initial course exam and provide proof of a passing score.
  • You have up to six (6) months after the expiration date of your Minnesota CFPM certificate to submit your renewal application and certification fee, along with your continuing education course certificates.

2. Mail renewal application, approved continuing education certificate(s) and $35 fee to MDH.

  • Apply for renewal of your Minnesota CFPM no more than 6 months after your Minnesota CFPM expires.

Renewal documentation requirements

  • Include:
    • Application
    • Copy of continuing education certificate(s) (four hours required)
    • $35 check or money order payable to MDH

Mailing address

Minnesota Department of Health
Certified Food Protection Manager Program
Food, Pools, and Lodging Services Section
P.O. Box 64495
St. Paul, MN 55164-0495

Go to > top

Updated Monday, 04-Oct-2021 13:53:42 CDT