Rural Mental Health Loan Forgiveness - Minnesota Dept. of Health

Minnesota Rural Mental Health Professional Loan Forgiveness Guidelines

The Minnesota Health Care Loan Forgiveness program cycle is now closed.

Program administrator: Brenda Flattum, 651-201-3870,
Eligible licensed health professionals: psychiatric nurse practitioners, licensed in psychology, licensed independent clinic social workers (LICSW), licensed marriage and family therapists (LMFT) or licensed professional clinical counselors (LPCC)
Minimum service obligation: Serve 3 years minimum/4 years maximum in rural area
Annual repayment amount: $18,000 for Psychologists, $14,000 for Psychiatric NPs, $9,300 for LICSW, LMFT, LPCC
The purpose of Minnesota’s Loan Forgiveness program is to recruit and retain health care professionals to needed areas and facilities in Minnesota. Loan Forgiveness is an important benefit for health care professionals as well as health care facilities and communities experiencing a shortage of access to primary care services.
The Office of Rural Health and Primary Care (ORHPC), Minnesota Department of Health, administers this program. It is funded by the State of Minnesota. Program eligibility requirements and benefits are established by Minnesota statute, 144.1501, authorizing the health professional loan forgiveness program.

The program is offered to licensed mental health professionals as defined in Minnesota statute, 245.462, subdivision 18, which includes Psychiatric Nurses/Nurse Practitioners, Independent Clinic Social Workers, Psychologists, Marriage and Family Therapists, and Licensed Professional Clinical Counselors. A prospective participant must submit an application to the ORHPC during the open application cycle.
The Rural Mental Health Professional Loan Forgiveness Program provides funds for repayment of qualified educational loans for licensed mental health professionals. Applicants are responsible for securing their own educational loans. Credit card or loans from family members do not qualify. Qualified loans include government, commercial, and foundation loans for actual costs paid for tuition, reasonable education and living expenses related to the graduate or undergraduate education of a health care professional.
This is a competitive selection process. Selections are made based on suitability for practice as indicated by personal and professional experience and training noted on an application, as well as preference given to those closest to completing their training. Preference will be given to applicants who document diverse cultural competencies. The number of applicants ORHPC may select for participation varies annually and is contingent upon state funding.
Participants are required to practice for at least 30 hours per week, for at least 45 weeks per year, for a minimum of three years in a designated rural area.  A designated rural area is defined by Minnesota statute 144.1501 as a statutory and home rule charter city or township that is (1) outside the seven-county metropolitan area, as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2 excluding the cities of Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester and St. Cloud.

Selected participants shall provide direct patient care hours/client–centered services. Hours cannot be fulfilled meeting with providers, process improvement, policy development, supervising, or administering programs.

Participants must begin their service obligation under this program no later than March 31 following completion of their licensure. Participants must complete their licensure as originally stated in their application.

Participants are eligible to participate for up to four years in the program as a mental health professional in a designated rural area.  ORHPC will make an annual payment to the participant in the amount of up to (1) $18,000, not to exceed $72,000 for Psychologists and (2) $14,000, not to exceed $56,000 for Psychiatric Nurse Practitioners and (3) $9,300, not to exceed $37,200 for Licensed Independent Clinical Social Workers, Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists, and Licensed Professional Clinical Counselors for the maximum four-year period or the balance of the designated loan(s), whichever is less subject to the availability of funds appropriated by the Minnesota State Legislature for the loan forgiveness program.


Updated Wednesday, 12-Feb-2020 13:17:57 CST