Speech Language Pathology and Audiology License Frequently Asked Questions
See the SLPA Announcements page for more information. A notice of instructions on how to log into the online portal to renew your license was sent to the email address on file. You can access the license renewal portal to begin the renewal process online.
If you did not get a notice in the email on file, and you've changed addresses since we last issued your license then you must fill out the SLPA Change of Information form (PDF) and email it to firstname.lastname@example.org and in the subject line, add: Change of Address, Renewal.
We are working hard to process your application. Generally, applications are complete in the order they are received. To ensure your renewal is completed in a timely manner, make sure your complete application and payment as early as possible. For more information Minn. Stat. 15.992.
Minnesota Statute 148.519, Subd. 3 requires licensees to notify the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) within thirty days when there is a change of name, employment, or address. A name change request must be submitted with a copy of a marriage certificate or court order.
You will need to start this process 30 days before your temporary license expires. You can only renew your temporary license two times after you are issued your license. Please contact us if you need to renew more than two times.
If you hold a temporary license as a person credentialed by ASHA, ABA, or other states, or you have a clinical fellowship or doctoral externship license, you must follow the instructions at Speech Language Pathologist and Audiologist Application Instructions .
If you are interested in an educator license for speech-language pathology, please see the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board website.
If you are applying for a temporary license, you have two choices for both SLPs and AUDs:
For full license applications it is dependent on the month you apply in and which license (SLP or AUD) you are applying for. You can find the fee schedule on our fee website Speech-Language Pathologist and Audiologist License Fees. Remember, an applicant is also responsible to pay for their background study through Department of Human Services.
If you are applying for your first license with MDH, please make sure to include the processing fee for your criminal background check. Make sure to send in the application with the correct fee payment. The fee depends on which license you are pursuing:
Audiology processing fee: $13
Speech-Language Pathology processing fee: $10.50
Only apply for the criminal background check if it is your first time applying for a license with MDH. We recommend that you apply for the background check on the same day you send us your license application. MDH contracts with the Department of Human Services to process criminal background checks.
Carefully read and follow the instructions for the Criminal Background Check at Applicant Background Study (PDF).
A processing fee is made to the Department of Health for processing the criminal background check. The fee depends on which license you are pursuing:
- Audiology processing fee: $13
- Speech-Language Pathology processing fee: $10.50
If you have changed your name and wish to have your wall certificate updated with the new name, see Duplicate Card Request instructions to request a new card.