- Licensing for Radon Professionals Home
- Initial Licensing
- Requirements of Radon Licenses
- Continuing Education and License Renewal
- Radon Licensing System
- Laws, Rules and Standards
Environmental Health Division
Requirements of Radon Licensees
Note: This list of requirements for licensees is not comprehensive. Licensees need to familiarize themselves with the Minnesota Radon Licensing Act Rules and ANSI/AARST Standards for the work they are doing and follow those requirements.
- Measurement and mitigation work completed by licensed radon professionals must be submitted through the radon licensing system.
- Reports are due quarterly (January 30, April 30, July 30, October 30) but can be done more frequently.
- Measurement work must be submitted by the licensed individual who did the tests. Mitigation work is reported under the company license. For individuals who are a sole proprietor, the work is reported under that license.
- Measurements done as part of a mitigation job must be reported under both mitigation and measurement.
Instructions of what information is required can be found in the help tab of the Radon Application Help Documentation.
- Operate according to the QA Plan approved under the license
- Use measurement devices approved by NRPP or NRSB
- Notify the commissioner of any change to the license within 30 days
- Maintain proof of license while on a project site
- Use only radon laboratories licensed by MDH
- Comply with ANSI/AARST protocols for conducting radon measurement in homes, multifamily buildings and schools/large commercial buildings
- Comply with ANSI/AARST protocols for conducting radon mitigation in homes, multifamily buildings and schools/large commercial buildings
- Maintain radon records for 3 years
- Not interfere with MDH inspection or audit
- Make available, to MDH, records, equipment, addresses, property owners, residents, and employees
- Follow Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) requirements regarding electrical work. DLI Radon Bulletin has information on Electrical licensing and inspections for radon fan installations (PDF). For questions regarding electrical licensing or inspection, contact the Department of Labor and Industry at firstname.lastname@example.org or 651-284-5026