Notice to Registrants
The COVID-19 peacetime emergency ends on July 1, 2021. All registrants affected by equipment performance modification of existing COVID-19 waiver or modification under Minnesota Session Laws - 2020, Regular Session, chapter 74, article 1, section 13, must return to normal statute and rule compliance on July 30, 2021. Registrants are strongly encouraged to begin the necessary planning for this transition as soon as possible and should contact x-ray unit at email@example.com with questions.
Legislative Laws 2020, chapter 74 , article 1, section 13, signed into law April 15, 2020, allows the Commissioner of Health to temporarily delay, waive, or modify Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4732. MDH supports healthcare facilities’ efforts to protect public health and offers the following guidance for registrants to assure the continuity of radiation safety during COVID-19 related restrictions. This is a fluid situation and this notice is subject to change. If you have questions or concerns, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Notice to X-ray Operators - ARRT Fees
The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) is issuing an Information Notice to inform Limited Scope X-ray Operators and Bone Densitometry Equipment Operators that effective August 1, 2020, the X-ray Unit will no longer accept the American Registry of Radiologic Technologist (ARRT) fees. X-ray Operators must:
- Download the registration application from the MDH x-ray operator website.
- Include a $25.00 money order or cashier’s check payable to Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) with the registration application. Fees are nonrefundable and nontransferable.
- MDH will review the registration application, and send a letter by mail or email to the applicant regarding next steps and payment to ARRT.
- After receiving notification from MDH, the applicant will pay the ARRT fee of $140.00 by credit card on their website, or by money order or cashier’s check via mail directly to ARRT.
Notice to X-ray Operators - MDH Registration
The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) is issuing an Information Notice to inform Limited Scope X-ray Operators and Bone Densitometry Equipment Operators to the recent law changes in Minnesota Statute, 144.121 that they are required to register with MDH for passed module examinations. The 2020 Legislature authorized this law and it will be effective August 1, 2020.
An individual must be registered with MDH as a limited scope x-ray operator and a registered bone densitometry equipment operator who passed the examination in Minnesota Statute, 144.121.
Security Screening Information Notice
The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) is issuing this Information Notice (IN) to inform correctional or detention facilities to the recent law changes to Minnesota Statute, 144.121 involving the use of security screening x-ray equipment for human use.
The 2019 Legislature authorized the use of security screening x-ray equipment to image and identify contraband items concealed within or on all sides of a human body. A facility must have a granted variance to Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4732 and meet the requirements before first use of the security screening x-ray equipment.
In addition to these statutory requirement changes and granted variance, a correctional or detention facility must also comply with applicable Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4732.
All equipment and facility notifications from registrants should be made through the online Verification System effective May 15, 2017. Please visit our Registration Forms webpage below.
Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4732 Revision
The Minnesota Department of Health is considering amendments and possible new rules for Ionizing Radiation, Chapter 4732. None of the changes expressed in the rule revision documents have been made to Chapter 4732 or are adopted at this time. For more information, please visit our rules webpage below.
Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4733 Revision
The Minnesota Department of Health is proposing new rules for machine produced radiation therapy, Chapter 4733. Email request for comments to email@example.com.
X-ray Unit Program
Minnesota Rule Chapter 4732 strives to control and prevent hazards to health and safety from ionizing radiation, without limiting or interfering with its constructive uses. Except as otherwise specifically provided, this chapter applies to all persons who receive, possess, use, transfer, own or acquire any radiation-producing equipment. The scope of this chapter does not include those sources of ionizing radiation known as radioactive materials, which are covered by Chapter 4731.
The mission of the Radiation Control, X-ray Program is to protect and promote radiation safety through guidance and collaboration with the radiation community. Our vision is to reduce unnecessary radiation exposure from the use of ionizing radiation producing equipment.
Quality Control: QC guidelines, forms and documents, including: Crabtree, Step Wedge, Technique Charts, and more.
Registration Forms: Initial and Additional Registrations, Verification System guidance.
Rules: Links to specific Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4732 rule parts. Rule Revision meeting notices, agendas, minutes, and documentation.
Service Provider: Service Provider registration form, renewal form, vendor lists and physicist list.
Topic Index: All pages are located in the Topic Index. Links to all x-ray topics available on our website.
X-ray Operator: Limited Scope X-ray Operator Examination process and application. ARRT contact and exam information. Classes, online courses and educational materials.
For questions, comments or feedback regarding the MDH X-ray Program, please email firstname.lastname@example.org or call 651.201.4545.