Birth Resulting in Stillbirth
Requesting a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth
The Office of Vital Records issues Certificates of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth for fetal deaths of 20 weeks or more gestation that are required to be reported under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.222.
Complete the Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth (PDF) application to request a certificate. You must:
- be a parent named on the fetal death report,
- show valid identification,
- sign and date the application in front of a notary public, and
- pay the $16 fee.
The Office of Vital Records accepts requests for certificates by fax or mail. The application explains how to submit applications and payment. County vital records offices do not issue Certificates of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth.
Credit for Parents of Stillborn Children
Parents who experience the stillbirth of a child in Minnesota may be eligible for a refundable credit of $2,000 for each stillbirth in a tax year (January 1 through December 31). To be eligible, parents:
- must have experienced a stillbirth during the income tax year,
- must have purchased a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth from the Minnesota Department of Health Office of Vital Records, and
- would have claimed the child as a dependent if the child had been born alive.
Parents must purchase a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth for each stillbirth in a tax year to file a Credit for Parents of Stillborn Children tax form. The certificate includes information needed to complete the fax form.
See the Minnesota Department of Revenue Credit for Parents of Stillborn Children website for the tax form, eligibility requirements and other information, or call 651-296-3781 or 800-652-9094.