Noncertified Copies of Birth Records
A noncertified copy is a plain paper copy of a birth record. Noncertified copies are for informational use only and cannot be used for legal purposes. If you need a certificate for legal use, please go to Birth Certificates.
Our county vital records office webpage has contact information for all the counties in Minnesota. Check with a county office close to you for information about their services during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.
Did you know that the U.S. Department of Homeland Security extended the REAL ID enforcement deadline to October 1, 2021? If you apply for your REAL ID, you must provide an identity document such as a certified copy of your birth certificate. Request your birth certificate now if you were born in Minnesota, and avoid the rush.
How long does it take to get a noncertified copy of a birth record?As of September 29, 2020, the Office of Vital Records is mailing noncertified copies of birth records from applications received on September 16, 2020.
Rush processing requests received as of September 28, 2020 for noncertified copies of birth records have also been mailed.
Who can get a noncertified copy of a birth record?
- Anyone can get a noncertified copy of a public birth record.
- Some records are confidential and can be issued only to certain people. If you request a copy of a confidential record you must sign and date your Noncertified Birth Record Application (PDF) in front of a notary public.
- If you are the mother listed on the record, you can request a copy that includes medical information if the birth occurred in 2001 or later. If you request medical information you must sign and date your application in front of a notary public.
How do I get a noncertified copy of a birth record?
- Complete a Noncertified Birth Record Application (PDF).
- If the record you want is confidential or if you are the mother asking for a copy with medical information, you must sign your application in front of a notary public.
- The fee is $13. If you order more than one copy, each additional copy of the same record is $6. Fees are non-refundable (Minnesota Statutes, section 144.226).
- If no birth record can be found, you will receive a “Statement of No Birth Record Found.”
- The Office of Vital Records returns applications that are incomplete, not signed in front of a notary public and not paid in full at the time of application.
Where do I get a noncertified copy of a birth record?
Check with your county office about walk-in service hours and their policy on mailed in requests. The Office of Vital Records at the Minnesota Department of Health does not have walk-in service.
For in person service: Visit any Minnesota county vital records office for records 1900-present. Pre-1900 records are available only in the county of birth. The Office of Vital Records at the Minnesota Department of Health does not have walk-in service.
For service by fax or mail: to the Office of Vital Records at the Minnesota Department of Health for records 1900-present.
Payment is accepted by credit card (MasterCard, VISA, or Discover), check or money order and is deposited upon receipt.
- By fax. Fax your application to 651-201-5740. Do not fax it more than once; each application is processed as a separate request. If the notary uses a raised or embossed seal, instead of a rubber ink stamp, please lightly shade over the seal with a pencil so it is visible on the fax.
- By mail. Mail your application and fee to the mailing address on the application. The same mailing address is on the right side of this page.
If you want a copy of a record for someone born in another state, see the National Center for Health Statistics website for contact information.
If you still have questions about how to apply for a noncertified copy of a birth record, contact us at email@example.com or 651-201-5970.