What is a birth certificate?
How long does it take to get a birth certificate?
If you need a birth certificate quickly, make your request in person, or by mail or fax, to one of the 108 county vital records offices in Minnesota.
As of July 15, 2019, the Office of Vital Records is mailing birth certificates from applications received on July 2, 2019.
Birth certificates from applications specifying rush processing and received on July 12, 2019 have also been mailed.
If you mailed your request to a county vital records office, check with that office to learn the status of your request.
Where do I get a birth certificate?
- You may buy a birth certificate at any Minnesota county vital records office in person. Birth certificate applications are available at county offices or on this page under "How do I get a birth certificate?". See For in person service.
- You may order certificates by mail or fax from a Minnesota county vital records office or the Office of Vital Records. You must complete a birth certificate application. Check with the county vital records office to find out if mailed in or faxed applications are accepted. See For service by fax or mail.
- You may buy a birth certificate from the Office of Vital Records. You must complete one of the applications below. The Office of Vital Records accepts applications by mail or fax.
Records for Minnesota births occurring before 1900 are available from the county of birth or from the Minnesota Historical Society.
If you need a certificate for someone born in another state, see the National Center for Health Statistics website for contact information.
How do I get a birth certificate?
You must complete an application.
Use one of the forms below to order a certificate. You must sign and date the application in front of a notary public.
- Birth Certificate Application (PDF)
- Solicitud de copia certificada del acta de nacimiento - Spanish (PDF)
- Codsiga Shahaadada Dhalshada - Somali (PDF)
- Daim Ntawv Thov Ntawv Pov Thawj Yug - Hmong (PDF)
- Birth Certificate Application in the Karen Language (PDF)
You must meet the legal requirements to get a certified birth certificate.
- You must complete an application to request a certificate.
- You must show valid identification.
- You must sign your application
- You can get a birth certificate only if you have tangible interest.
- You must qualify to get a confidential record in addition to having tangible interest.
- You must pay a fee of $26. If you order more than one copy, each additional copy of the same record is $19. Fees are non-refundable, per Minnesota Statutes, section 144.226.
- You will receive a certified “Statement of No Birth Record Found” if you request a certificate and the state or county vital records office cannot identify or find a record using the information you provide.
You must pay the required fee to get a birth certificate and most other vital records documents. The Office of Vital Records returns applications that are incomplete, not signed in front of a notary public and not paid in full at the time of application.
The fees are the same at all county vital records offices statewide. Check with the county vital records office for payment options. The Office of Vital Records at the state accepts payment by credit card (MasterCard, VISA, or Discover), check or money order. Payment is deposited upon receipt.
All certificates are mailed using First Class Mail®. Rush processing and United Parcel Service (UPS) delivery are offered for additional fees. See the Birth Certificate Application (PDF) for more information. The Office of Vital Records and UPS are not responsible for deliveries that do not require signatures.For in person service: Visit any Minnesota county vital records office. In person service is available only at county vital records offices; the Office of Vital Records (state office) does not have walk-in service. County vital records offices can print birth certificates for people born in Minnesota from 1900 to the present. Pre-1900 records are available only in the county of birth.
For service by fax or mail: Use the Birth Certificate Application (PDF) form to order a certificate. You must sign and date the application in front of a notary public. Send your request to the Office of Vital Records. The Office of Vital Records accepts requests for certificates by fax or mail. Check with the county vital records office about service by fax or mail.
- By fax. Fax your application to 651-201-5740. Do not fax it more than once; each application is processed as a separate request. If the notary uses a raised or embossed seal, instead of a rubber ink stamp, please lightly shade over the seal with a pencil so it is visible on the fax.
- By mail. Mail your application to:
Minnesota Department of Health
Central Cashiering – Vital Records
P.O. Box 64499
St. Paul, MN 55164-0499
Requests for changes or other services in addition to a certificate may take longer. Certificates are sent by First Class Mail®. The Office of Vital Records offers rush processing for an additional fee, and rush delivery for an additional fee.
Where can I get more information?
If you have questions about Minnesota birth certificates, contact the Office of Vital Records at firstname.lastname@example.org or 651-201-5970. You may also contact the vital records office in any county.