Community Health Awards - Minnesota Dept. of Health

Minnesota Community Health Awards

The Community Health Awards recognize and acknowledge Minnesotans who make significant contributions to public health in our state.


2019 award recipients

2019 Jim Parker Leadership Award
Sue Strohschein & Marjorie Schaffer, editors, Public Health Interventions: Applications for Public Health Nursing Practice

2019 Jack Korlath Partnership Award
DeeAnn Finley, policy analyst, Minnesota Department of Health

2019 Commissioner’s Award for Distinguished Service in Community Health Services
Dorothy Bliss, planner, Minnesota Department of Health

2019 Lou Fuller Award for Distinguished Service in Eliminating Health Disparities
Pat Swanson, nutrition services supervisor (retired), Health Start Clinics

2019 Award for Outstanding Dedication to Local Public Health
Marv Bodie, Carlton County commissioner, chair of Carlton-Cook-Lake-St. Louis Community Health Board

2019 Certificates of Recognition
Better Together Hennepin team and partners
Countryside Public Health Community Leadership Team
David C. Johnson, epidemiology manager, Hennepin County Public Health


About the Community Health Awards

The 2019 Community Health Awards were presented at the 2019 Community Health Conference on October 3, 2019. Public health professionals in Minnesota nominate their peers for these annual awards, presented each fall at the Community Health Conference.

Please direct questions and comments related to the Community Health Awards to:

Becky Neudecker
Center for Public Health Practice

Related: Community Health Awards Workgroup